Film Reviews

While in Sydney The Boy and I saw two movies.

First we saw Bill Cunningham New York

It was a wonderful documentary about the famous New York Times fashion and society photographer and columnist. He has been doing this job for close to 60 years and he’s still so passionate about it. But at the same time it’s great to see how much perspective he has. He lives so modestly and really doesn’t get caught up too much in the industry that he documents.

Another day we saw This Is Not A Film

This was an Iranian documentary made about a film maker who has been banned from making films. It is all shot inside the film maker’s apartment where he is on house arrest. It’s pretty basic at time with it even being filmed on an iphone. But it is a very powerful movie in any case. Apart from the human rights issues it’s really moving to see a person who’s whole life has been about film and have that taken away from him.

On an entirely different note last night I went with my girlfriends to see the new Twilight movie – Breaking Dawn. 

Though I’ve read all the books and seen all the movies I really wouldn’t call myself a fan generally. The books are badly written, have lame plot lines and immature/frustrating characters. Having said that, they were a quick an easy read. The films too I generally viewed mainly to mock and snigger rather than to actually appreciate. Oh, and to see Jacob topless. Breaking Dawn isn’t really an exception to this, though I’d say it was probably better than the others. Less lame corny lovey lines and over dramatic emotional issues. I feel like it was a much punchier and fast moving plot. Good job Twilight for picking up your game.

So that’s what I’ve seen recently.

Disagree/agree with my reviews?

Have you got any recommendations yourself?

xoxo Ellyse

 

One thought on “Film Reviews

  1. I haven’t seen any of these movies yet. And I feel about the same as you do about the Twilight movies/books. But I’ve definitely read the books and I’m going to see the movie. Haha. I’ll have to tell you what I think! :]

Leave a Reply

