Ta Shma

Hi!

I am a friend of Ellyse and will be posting here occasionally. You can call me “Talmud” (I am rather bookish, occasionally controversial and contain many internal debates and the occasional story!). I also like to cook, which, let’s face it, is the reason I was asked to blog over here.

I better catch you up on my recent cooking adventures. To begin with, I should tell you that my husband (let’s call him Tanna Kamma, or TK for short) and I are both vegetarians. TK is a good vegetarian and loves mushrooms. I, on the other hand, am a semi-good vegetarian who hates to eat mushrooms but greatly enjoys to cook them (weird, i know! it’s something to do with the way they absorb liquid).

2 weeks ago, TK went to Queen Victoria Market and bought $20 worth of exotic mushrooms which we have been going through since. I have cooked him 5 different mushroom dishes since the visit to the market. Sadly, I didn’t take photos of all of the dishes.

Here is one of the most recent dishes: stir-fried Enoki and Shimeji mushrooms with buckwheat noodles. Basically, I seperated the the mushroom stalks and placed them in the wok with a few splashes of oil, soy sauce, rice wine vinegar and crushed garlic. I sauteyed the mushrooms for 20 minutes or so and then added some parsely and the noodles and stir-fried to heat everything through. Apparently, it was tasty!

 

Recently, I have instituted “Calzone Monday.” When I get home from uni, I make a batch or two of pizza dough, a pot of pizza sauce and some sort of mushroom filling for TK.

Two weeks ago I made a filling which included shitake mushrooms, red and yellow onions, baby spinach, garlic and a few splashes of olive oil, rice wine vinegar and soy sauce. Here is a photo of the finished product:

On Monday night I made a filling which included yellow onions, olive oil, garlic, oyster mushrooms and a generous amount of soy sauce and a quick splash of rice wine vinegar.  Alas, I didn’t take a photo of the filling.

Here is a pic of the calzones. FYI mine are filled with pizza sauce, cheese and pineapple.

I think that’s enough cooking for one post! More soon.

Leave a Reply

